DO Catalunya (Catalonia)

DO status awarded 1999.


The DO Catalunya is in the north-eastern part of Spain, stretching nearly 400 km down the Mediterranean coast and encompassing ten DOs within its remit. These DOs are Alella, Ampurdán-Costa Brava, Cava, Conca de Barberá, Costers del Segre, Penedés, Pla de Bages, Priorato (Priorat in Catalan), Tarragona and Terra Alta . Barcelona is the capital city of Catalunya.


Triangular in shape and dominated by the Pyrennes in the north and its coastal mountains to the east, Catalunya enjoys a huge diversity of terrain and climate. Generally, the whole coastal region enjoys a Mediterranean climate, which gradually becomes drier and more extreme further inland. Typically, the terrain determines the level of rainfall; in Costers del Segre the annual rainfall is only 300mm, compared with 500-600mm of rain in the more windy Apmurdán-Costa Brava, but all regions enjoy over 2,500 hours of sunshine a year.


As with the climate, the soil in this DO is extremely varied. The coastal regions have sandy beaches as well as rocky outcrops - in the Ampurdán-Costa Brava region, grapes used to be picked from boats where vines were planted on steep slopes right down to the sea. On the whole, lower coastal vineyards tend to have more sandy soil, while higher vineyards have more clay.


Catalunya is one DO which permits blending of its wines from its individual DOs, without losing Quality Wine status, providing it is sold as DO Catalunya, and not under the name of the original DO. Bodegas within the DO Catalunya have to register with the Consejo Regulador of their own DO and that of DO Catalunya if they wish to produce wines under the auspices of both their local DO as well as the DO Catalunya. Other areas in Catalunya which produce wines which were previously unclassified or of VdlT (Vino de la Tierra) or VC (Vino Comarcal or local) status, can make wine under the umbrella of the DO Catalunya, but cannot claim regional or local DO status for their wines.

Permitted grapes depend on the individual DO regulations, but for red wine include: Ull de Llebre, Aragonés, Monastrell, Mazuelo, Bobal, Chenin Blanc, Garró, Sumoll, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon and Samsó.

Permitted varieties of grape for white wine include: Parellada, Pansá Blanca, Viura, Subirat Parent, Chardonnay, Picapoll, Pinot Blanc, Sauvignon Blanc, Moscatel, Garnacha and Müller Thurgau.

Consejo Regulador for DO Catalunya

Edifici de l'Estació de Viticultura i Enologia
Passeig Sunyer, 4-6
43202 Reus (Tarragona)
Tel: +34 977 328103
Fax: +34 977 321357
Catalunya (Catalonia)

Bodegas from Catalunya (Catalonia) on our wine list:

© 2003-2008 Decanter Wines Limited, Leatherhead, Surrey
Telephone: +44 (0)1372 376 127 Fax: +44 (0)1372 386 615